What’s Up Wednesday

what's up wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday, started by Jamie Morrow and Erin Funk, is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. 

WHAT I’M READING

On an actual book with pages:

THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU, by Jonathan Tropper

6224935

This has been on my To-Read list forever. Then I saw it was going to be a movie, with Adam Driver–who I love, love in GIRLS–

so I bumped it up. It started out slow for me (I hate to be thrown back into flashbacks or suffocated by too much backstory), but I kept at it. And I LOVE it. This’ll be one I move along to the next lucky reader. Probably my sister.

Still reading on audio:

MAYBE SOMEDAY by the great Colleen Hoover

17788403

Ms. Colleen is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors! I love her characters and her heart-wrenching stories!

Kindle book (if you couldn’t tell, I’m incapable of reading one book at a time):

SNEAKING CANDY by Lisa Burstein

18183828

So far, a fun read with a strong female lead.

WHAT I’M WRITING + A GOAL

I’m still working on my new WIP, OPEN:

Emeline, a girl who just went through a rough cheating-filled breakup (his end), writes off all relationships until her friends propose trying something new: instead of dealing with all the jealousy and worrying if her man is sneaking around, Em should just allow it. She should try an open relationship, where both Em and her new beau date whoever they want. Emeline tries it, but finds her jealousy monster rearing it’s ugly head again, no matter how open her new guy is with her.

My goal of finishing the first three chapters has failed. Miserably. I’m nearing the end of my second, but I’m brainstorming how I want the second chapter to end. I can’t decide which way I want to go with it and I can’t move forward to a different part of the story until I choose. This choice will determine what happens in the entire book. So. I must choose wisely.

My new goal will be to write out a list of choices on which way the chapter should go and finally make a choice!

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

Sometimes people need white noise to sleep. I need what I call “white sight” to write. I have to have the TV on, but it has to be on mute. I do best when I can look up at a screen and see something happening on it. If it’s blank, I am too.

WHAT ELSE IS NEW

I’m thinking about trying a totally plant-based diet for like a week. It’s not necessarily to lose weight (although getting healthier is part of it, for sure), but there will be a time where I would like to eat only what I grow and I can’t grow Ben & Jerry’s or Subway in my backyard. As much as I’d really, really like to. The health issues I’m hoping it will help solve are my migraines, nearly high blood pressure (I’m only 33), and of course my waistline…and who knows what else. Pre-diabetes? High cholesterol? I haven’t had those things checked. When I start the week, I’ll be sure to mention it here on my blog. Wish me luck!

What’s up with YOUR Wednesday?

11 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Good luck with the chapter and working out which way to go. It can definitely be tricky.

    …If you ever find a way to grow Ben and Jerry’s in your backyard, let me know 😉

  2. I haven’t heard the term white sight, but that’s exactly how my husband functions when he works on creative things. He’s gone through all of the anime on Netflix–and when I say all, I mean it, including rewatching numerous series. I

  3. Good luck with that diet! I’d fail in like a day. No, make that, one meal. 😉
    If the TV is on, I can only write if I have headphones in. Even if it was on mute, I’d get distracted by what was on.

  4. Good luck figuring out how you want that second chapter to end. I totally get not being able to move on until you have those sorts of details decided. Hope inspiration hits this week! 🙂

  5. Congrats on trying a plant-based diet! I’ve been doing it for about 20+ years now and I can honestly say I will never go back. So good for me in so many ways! (Plus it’s pretty awesome for the planet too) Though yeah, growing Ben & Jerry’s not so much. 🙂 Though I do have some mean homemade Coconut Ice Cream recipes if you’re ever interested. It’s basically like chilly, frozen, crack deliciousness for veggievores.

    Good luck on getting your direction for Chapter 3 fleshed out! And Happy, Happy Holidays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

