Tortilla Soup…With Chicken

One of my favorite things to do is to ruin a recipe. I mean, I love to take a recipe and add, delete, and twist it to make it my own. I saw a version of this soup in a magazine and I was like, ohmygod I have to try this. But then I ended up forgetting some of the ingredients at the store and felt like skipping a couple of the steps and exchanging one ingredient for another. You know, as one does. So here’s my version of Tortilla Soup with Chicken. And my, oh, my was it superb!

tort soup

INGREDIENTS

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 medium-size white onion, finely chopped

2 large poblano peppers, stemmed, seeded and finely chopped

6 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground pepper

1 container (32 oz) chicken broth

8 mini corn tortillas, cut into 1-inch strips

4 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 can of kernel corn, with the liquid

Toppings: sour cream and shredded cheese, if desired

DIRECTIONS

1. Heat oil in a large skillet or pot, medium heat. Add onions, peppers, garlic and seasonings. Simmer for 5-7 minutes, until soft.

2. Add chicken broth, tortillas and chicken. Bring to a boil.

3. Add corn with the liquid, simmer for 5-6 minutes.

4. To serve: top with a large dollop of sour cream and/or shredded cheese and a few more chopped tortillas. Maybe even a couple of cilantro leaves! I preferred mine with just the sour cream.

So. Friggin. Yummy.

Leave a Reply

