RUNNING WITH THE CLASSICS, PART 2

Last summer, I set a goal to complete five classic novels by the end of August in my Running with the Classics post.

I’m slowly slogging my way through the classics, some I’m enjoying and some I’m giving up on completely (bad, bad English teacher). But it’s summer again so I thought I’d pick some new ones to throw into my already chaotic TBR list. Five is the same goal. Here’s my tentative list (Help me choose between them!):

 

JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte DONE! Just gorgeous.

One of my favorite stories. I love the movie with a young Anna Paquin.

 

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM by William Shakespeare DONE! It was…confusing and kind of ridiculous and not even close to my favorite Shakespeare story.

Okay, so some of you might think it’s too short to count, but it’s SHAKESPEARE. Meaning, it’s difficult to understand. And also I will be reading the side-by-side modern English version which includes the entire play with the plain English version of it on the other side. So really I’m reading it twice.

 

MANSFIELD PARK by Jane Austen

One of my favorite authors, not to sound totally cliché. But there’s a reason she’s so popular. My favorite character ever might just be Mrs. Bennett. She’s such a nutty mother.

 

THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANK DONE! Seriously? I am totally ashamed as a former English teacher that I haven’t read this one until my thirties. *slaps own hand*

 

THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING by J. R. R. Tolkien

This is the first one, right? This one actually makes me nervous but I think it’s important for me to read for reasons of which I’m not even sure. I’m a fantasy lover, but not a total quest-type fantasy fan. I like my fantasy light and fluffy usually and I won’t be surprised if I give up on this one because I’ve zoned out too many times. Not that it’s not quality writing, but my brain just doesn’t function well under duress.

 

CATCHER IN THE RYE by J.D. Salinger

I read this one before, a long time ago. I only kind of remember it.

 

THE OUTSIDERS by S.E. Hinton DONE! I really, really wasn’t impressed with this one. I know it was important for the times, but I found myself scanning through most of it. Sad face.

 

ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND by Lewis Carroll

 

THE LITTLE PRINCE by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

 

PETER PAN by J. M. Barrie

 

FRANNY AND ZOOEY by J. D. Salinger

 

THE GIVER by Lois Lowry DONE! I expected this one to blow me out of my mind, but not quite. It was good.

 

This list might change as I think of other books, but for now this is it! I think I’ll start with Jane Eyre. Maybe on audio. Emma Messenger (who does a fabulous job with Pride and Prejudice) reads it on Audible, so it’s pretty much already bought.

Leave a Reply

